Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.56 from 48 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5
rating title date name city state/province country
Recommend it (5/5) Sep 3, 2016 Rich M Il US
  Did the prep work, (tedious but very necessary and used acetone) and with one can of Air Force ABU Tan I completed 2 AR-15 complete uppers and lowers including the barrels. I removed the hand guard and masked off just forward of the gas block to get a nice clean line on the barrel. I stripped the lower except for the takedown pins. Removed the stock and grip. I made a tree with 2x4 and 5/8 dowel rod for the lowers, made a hanger for the safety, dust cover and mag release. I also made a 2x4 rack and used a brass rod to hold the uppers so I could roll them using a dowel in the takedown pin hole.
I got good coverage except for very light show through on the inside corners of the picatinny rails on the quad rail hand guard, you really have to look hard to see it, but I was nervous about getting it on too wet and running.
I did 1 ar first, and covered it pretty good, including the barrel and had almost a half a can left, so I took a chance on finishing up the 2nd one. Covered the second one and had very little left so I just kept dusting them until it was empty. I did not get the flat look, but I figure that I did not give enough time between coats.
My other can was Wilderness Mirage Tan, it completed two Remington 700 actions, barrels , bolts and bottom metal, plus two scopes. I also just dusted one stock with what I had left. I was a little disappointed in this color because it is more of a greenish than tan. Got good reviews from my buddies tho!
I did wait longer between coats on the 700's , and did get a less glossy look, but still not flat. I am hoping as they cure they will flatten out.
Over all , I would have to say I am very pleased with the product.
Easy as pie (5/5) Aug 6, 2016 Mark Karkos Fort Worth Te US
  I purchased the spray can product as a test to see how well it worked. I was pleasantly surprised to find it was easier to use than normal spray paint. The application process is quick, my only complaint is having to shake the can for 6 minutes.
Duracoat (3/5) May 28, 2016 Chris howard League city Tx US
  After following all directions to the letter what I have found is this:

After cleaning all parts with tru strip, I coated them with the Duracoat Aerosol as per manufacturer instructions.
Once coating was complete I let sit for 30 days prior to assembly.
It does go on quite easily.
It is an amazing color.
Upon assembly, my upper was scratched at the sight attachment points.
If I bump it against anything(wood, plastic, metal) it scratches.

It appears to scratch off rather easily. As such, I would say that it's not worth the almost 60.00 it cost for the paint and delivery

At this point, I am disappointed in the end result but still give it 3 stars because of the ease of application and color. There has got to be a way to toughen up the finish.
DuraBlue Aerosol kit (4/5) May 21, 2016 Charles Barr Canal Winchester Oh US
  The aerosol can works well. It does lay down a lot of volume though. I think Mr. Houts was correct when he told me that you will waste less product if you use an airbrush. I ended up running out of product because I was bluing 2 firearms at the same time, and the aerosol can dispenses at a high volume.
The can is very convenient though, with the hardener being inside the can.
Additionally, in my case I was restoring an old, beat up shotgun. In hindsight I think I would have used DuraFill to fill some pits, and provide better adhesion to the bare metal. So, if you're spraying bare metal (ie, no parkerizing or anodizing), make sure you apply very light coats at first. This will allow your subsequent coats to adhere better.
When I was done though, it looked great. Outstanding product. I've now used DuraCoat in all 3 methods: Can, airbrush, and HVLP sprayer.
DurePark and DuraBlue (5/5) Apr 23, 2016 Rick DAlessandro Rockville MD US
  Worked like a charm!! DuraPark black and DuraBlue matte black aerosol!Used one each on each of my 1100s separately. Make sure you get the DuraCoat TrueStrip. FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!

The DuraBlue matte black is really matte. I have reordered and am getting Polished black. Will spray over the matte.

Most fun I've had messing with my guns! Showed my shooting friends and they want me to do theirs.

As an aside I also refinished my stocks. My first time for both DuraCoat and wood refinishing.

Love it!!!!! I think it made my guns shoot better :-).
Aresol (4/5) Apr 16, 2016 Joe Standridge West Peoria IL US
  I love the ability to paint my guns and at an easy rate. I recently painted my 1911 and followed all recommended steps. However some higher friction areas the paint is coming off and that's the only negative thing.
Aerosol Paint and kit (5/5) Apr 16, 2016 Ashleigh Moczygemba Austin Te US
  Easy to use, fast dry time great buy
Quality products and fast shipping (5/5) Apr 2, 2016 Eric B. Dallas TX
  This duracoat spray is so ez to apply. With great results. I recommend it to anyone trying to make their pistol a little different from all the others out there. And so many colors to choose from.
Bathtub repair (5/5) Feb 27, 2016 David Heuring Wilmington NC US
  I have used DuraCoat on firearms for quite some time now. It is impervious to just about everything. So, when the drain on my 1967 porcelain coated steel bathtub rusted out, I turned to 2 products. Marine RX for the repair and DuraCoat for the coating!!
I changed the tub color to white from baby blue and the tub came out awesome with the Aerosol Can in a Can paint.
I have no doubts that the tub will provide many years of daily use with the DuraCoat paint protecting it!!!
You should see the pictures of the difference!!! Thanks DuraCoat!!
Great Products (5/5) Feb 13, 2016 Phil Sprague Bensalem Pa US
  I have had repeated success using the products. If you follow the instructions and don't skip any of the steps the results come out looking professional. I have applied Dura Coat to used weapons and they come out looking new. I just purchased the bluing kit and can't wait until the weather warms up, I have an old revolver that the bluing is almost gone. The weapon has sentimental value and I hope it comes out looking as good as the other finishes I have applied. I always recommend the products to family and friends. Thank you for a product that works better than advertised.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5