Shake N Bake Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.75 from 20 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
Shake N Bake (5/5) Jul 17, 2016 George Lucas Junction City KS US
  This was the best and easiest way to add just the right touch of color to my latest build. You get the cleaner/degreaser and your paint with simple, easy to follow instructions. The coated parts came out as close to perfect as you could want. You should try the Shake N Bake on your next build, you'll be glad you did.
works awesome (5/5) Feb 6, 2016 Tommy Kaminaka Long Beach Ca US
  I Bought Duracoat Shake N Bake to coat and protect my Remington 870. I used WW2 OD Green and left the furniture Blk and I have to say it looks awesome. I sand blasted the parts then Proceeded as instructed and it worked out great, I am really happy with the results. Oh and it wont stink you out your house!
Matte Black (5/5) Sep 14, 2014 Steven Donahue Coulterville Ca US
  Outstanding,Outstanding,Outstanding. I received your product and followed the instructions and baked for 15 minutes and then sprayed again and baked. My lower AR's look like professional finishes.
Take your time (5/5) Sep 7, 2014 Phil Marrin San Antonio Te US
  Take your time when learning to use the kit. On my first attempt, I tried to go too fast and sprayed to close. I ended up with a rough bumpy finish (not pretty). I wet sanded my receiver down and started over. This time I stayed 12 - 16 inches away and made single / smooth passes. I then let it set for 15 - 20 mjnutes in the sun between each coat. Since I exposed some bare metal when sanding the receiver back down, I had to make more passes than probably would have been necessary otherwise. Wanting to be extra careful so not to repeat my first attempt, I spent probably 2 hours making light coats until I thought everything was covered. I then hung it in the sun while my wife finished dinner (after all, I needed the oven). Since most electric stoves heat from the bottom element (unless on broil), I used a small piece of metal wire hanger to hang the receiver from the top element and baked it for about 22 - 25 minutes @ 350 (wanted to be sure it was done). I then turned the stove off and let the stove and receiver cool down on its own. When I pulled it out later, I was pleasantly surprised at the outcome. While it might not be absolutely perfect, it looks pretty darn good. I will being doing the slide off one of my Glocks next. When you order a Shake & Bake kit, order an extra 16 oz can of the TruStrip. You use a lot more of the cleaner / prep solution than the coating itself (you need to remove all oils / lubricants from the metal before attempting to coat). Have fun and thanks for reading my review.
Jeff (4/5) Aug 24, 2014 Jeffrey Guidry Bagdad Ke US
  I'm an experienced painter, and as a first time user of Duracoat, found this application to be pretty straight forward. Application was on an AK-47 parts kit. The receiver, dust cover and selector lever all came out beautifully! Smooth finish, matt black and rock hard! The stainless steel barrel didn't cure as well; however, this was likely due to operator error: I believe the application was too heavy.
matt black (5/5) Dec 9, 2013 john torbert Lynchburg Vi US
  A little thinner than I expected. Best results were a light quick mist from 14" away, let dry & repeat until it is covered. Turned out great once I had the method down. Found that a gasoline soaked rag will take it off even after it has air dried. 6oz can goes much further than I expected.
James Poland (5/5) Oct 10, 2013 James Poland Branchla d We US
  Orderd this on the 8th and was at my door 11:42am the 10th. Super awsome and now know where and who to come to for all my supplies. Thanks Guys!!!
works well so far (4/5) Oct 8, 2013 Evan Sata Northridge Ca US
  pretty easy to use, plenty to go around, one thing though, hang your parts to spray, bake then re-hang to cool. if you leave a piece laying on something where it will cool unevenly, the finish can get messed up. also the longer you bake, the more matte it will be and it will slightly lighten the color.
Fast professional finish (5/5) Sep 14, 2013 John Beck Ma US
  I just finished up some 80% AR15 Lowers and needed to get something on them to protect the aluminum. I don't have the expertise to anodize so I started looking at the baked on finishes. I chose Oxide (Black) DuraBake and simply followed the directions.

Degreased the lowers, sprayed a nice even coat of Durabake over them. Let them set up for about 15-20 minutes, and then popped them into my $15 Thrift store toaster oven at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes.

My lowers came out looking very similar to other professionally finished lowers. They look great. I'll use Durabake whenever I need to finish up a firearm, or other metal surface!

Great stuff, I'm a fan for life!
Great Product (5/5) Jul 23, 2013 Elmo Anderson Pahrump Ne US
  Was easy to use and resulted in a great finish!

Back to previous page

1 2