Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.69 from 203 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
Awesome Quick Cover (5/5) Apr 5, 2014 Delroy Evosevich Richland Wa US
  I used OD green to paint my Magpul Pmags. Covered in 3 thin coats. I was concerned that this would add to the thickness of the magazine and make it hard to insert or make it stick and not drop free from the magazine well. No such problem. Even with three coats the magazines slide in and drop out freely. This coating is extremely durable. After letting it cure for the recommended 30 days I have ran these magazines numerous times and not one scratch, scuff or chip. A word of caution. Because this is a resin and not a spray paint, the first coat is almost transparent. This may lead you to want to spray on a thicker coat. Do not spray a thicker coat. This will cause drips and runs. Trust the instructions and wait 5 minutes between coats. By the time you are finished with 3 or 4 lite coats it will be a solid color. I also recommend purchasing the primer if you are spraying a light base color over black or dark firearms or accessories, or your light color may turn out darker than you would like. I would recommend this product for anyone who wants a durable almost indestructible finish to firearms and accessories. Or just about anything you want to change the color of that needs to be durable. Tools, automotive parts, knives, electronics covers, just about anything you can think of to paint.
Police Officer (5/5) Mar 31, 2014 Dan St. John In US
  First time user, very easy to use and apply. I made a mistake because of bad lighting and got a run in the paint, My fault. I called customer service and they advised me the best way to correct, very friendly people. I will buy again, this stuff has a very strong odor so make sure you wear a mask and paint in a well ventilated area.
Goddess Purple Shake N Spray (5/5) Mar 25, 2014 M Page Ellensburg WA US
  My boyfriend Duracoated my LCP .380 over a year ago and I love it. It turned out perfectly and a year later it still looks great and hadn't chipped or scratched a bit. Way cheaper and better than having it done professionally. I am going to buy another kit for my 30-06 so that it will match my pistol.
Tactical Black (5/5) Mar 22, 2014 Guy Fleetwood Germantown Tn US
  1. Picking the color that you want - with out worry
a. In my experience I was confusing - colors all looked different than the examples that were given on Duracoat sites and posts through out the gun forums - Finally Duracoat came out with color deck and color samples were painted with the paint you would be applying to your gun
b. I bought the color deck - It had the colors I was interested in tactical flat - the color samples are small and to realize the true color I had to take the colors outside in the daylight and there I could see the true colors - you will need this color deck for tactical colors because there are no other options at this point to be sure of the color you want - not all the Duracoat colors are in this color deck so in my opinion you will have to pick the color you like and buy the color chip of your selection to see if it is actually that color - the Duracoat color selections on the sites and elsewhere simply are not true color in my opinion.
c. I picked Tactical Black for my project and the color was almost a perfect match of my Black XDm compact 45 - so if your looking for a black color that looks like your XDm Tactical black is very close .
3. I researched and researched this color selection problem I had and this is the way to go so as not to be disappointed .

2. Read and follow directions to the letter
a. cleaning most important
b. application: several light coats for professional look ( it's true )
c.don't mess with gun or whatever for at least couple days
3. Duracoat is the way to go if it is a do it yourself project - Color selection is key to being satisfied with your project - painting the gun is easy
4. That's my experience with Duracoat - I hope it helps - Good luck


Shake and spray (4/5) Mar 8, 2014 Anonymous
  Product is good quality easey to mix
Worked verry well with the exception
Of the sprayer dosnt controll the spray
As much as needed would reccomend
Using air brush other than the sprayer
A+ product
greatest gun paint (5/5) Feb 24, 2014 John Palasky spring hill Fl US
  Ive done a few rifles with a regular old rattle can and they have turned out great. But trying to do that on my M&P full size 9mm. Just wasnt going to happen. So i was looking around for a good gun paint and came across the dura-coat read some good reviews on it so i decided to buy the shake and spray kit i got tactical OD green and it came out amazing on my handgun.i will prolly never buy a different paint to paint my guns with other than dura-coat. I am really amazed at how thin the paint it and how strong it it is.
Pure professional results (5/5) Feb 22, 2014 gordonrusselltaylor MECHANICSVILLE VA
  I read all the many reviews of this product before making my purchase. No bad reviews.
I have a fairly new Mossberg persuader with blued finish. I wanted to give the gun a new (meaner) look. I ordered the ultra flat black tactical. Shipping was extra quick. I disassembled the gun and followed the simple instructions, preped and painted the firearm. The results are no less than amazing. NO ONE would believe I painted the gun. I just looks like a mean looking factory gun!
I assembled the gun after a 3 day cure and I banged the new finish a few times in the process. No damage. I can tell this stuff is hard.
Now I understand why this product has no bad reviews.
super results (5/5) Feb 22, 2014 Stephan George Hemet Ca US
  Easy to use great results just built my first AR & Painted the lower the results were amazing looks like it was factory finished
I will recommend & use this product in the future
shake n spray kit (5/5) Feb 22, 2014 dan constantinescu van nuys ca US
  Very easy to do it yourself love the product I haven't shoot my rifle still waiting for the drying process to cure but over all it came out like a new so I wood recommend it to a friend but the still I have not shoot it to see how it holds up I think it will doo goog is v erry solid and lets seer
shake n spray kit (5/5) Feb 22, 2014 dan constantinescu van nuys ca US
  Very easy to do it yourself love the product I haven't shoot my rifle still waiting for the drying process to cure but over all it came out like a new so I wood recommend it to a friend but the still I have not shoot it to see how it holds up I think it will doo goog is v erry solid and lets seer

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21